Virginia Social Work License: LCSW, LSW Licensing – Licensure

virginia social work license

Virginia Social Work License Requirements

virginia-social-work-license

 

In the tables below are consolidated information for social work licenses in Virginia. Social Work Supervisor.com has summarized this information to make it simple for social workers to understand.

 

All information presented can be found at the Virginia  State Board of Social Work Examiners.  We review and update our social work license information for Virginia on a periodic basis.

 

 

Virginia LCSW and LSW Licensure

In Virginia the two clinical licenses are the Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) and the Licensed  Social Worker  (LSW). In order to become an LCSW you must first become an LSW and this information is listed in the table below.

 

  • Virginia License

    Requirements

  • Degree needed to qualify for each license. IMPORTANT: Degree must be from a school accredited by the Counsel on Social Work Education.Degree Requirement
  • License required to qualify for the next license level: You must have this license to qualitfy for the next license.Base License/Certification Requirement
  • Paid clinical work experience needed to qualify for the license.Social Work Experience Requirement
  • IMPORTANT: Most state social work boards require minimum standards for supervisors. At Social Work Supervisor.com we require that supervisors attest they meet state requirments before they can list with us. Social Work Supervision
  • Required supervision time with supervisorSocial Work Supervision Requirements
  • Required Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam to qualify for the license. ASWB Social Work Exam Requirements
  • State social work board license application fee.Application Fee
  • Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam fee ASWB Social Work Exam Fee
  • After the exam is passed this is the fee paid to the board to get your licenseLicense Fee
  • Period in which your license is valid before you must renew.Renewal Period
  • Number of continuing education units (called CEUs or CEs) required for license renewalSocial Work Continuing Education Requirements
  • Fee paid to the board for license renewalRenewal Fee
  • State Boards review and change license information on a regular basis. Stay up to date by clicking "receive updates" directly to the right. Free State Board Monitoring Service
  • Virginia

  • LSW (with MSW)

  • Masters or Doctorate Degree in Social Work
  • None
  • None
  • Click here to find a Social Work Supervisor in your areaNone
  • None
  • Click here for specific information on the ASWB Bachelors ExamMasters ASWB Exam

    More information for this
    Social Work Exam
  • $100 to Virginia SW Board
  • $260 to ASWB
  • None
  • Every 2 years
  • 15 hours of CEU's: must include 2 hours of ethics or laws
  • $110 to Virginia SW Board
  • Get License Updates Newsletter Sign Up - License and Certification Updates
  • Virginia

  • LCSW

  • Masters or Doctorate Degree in Social Work
  • LSW
  • 15 hours per week of face to face client contact totaling a minimum of 1380 hours attained within no less than 2 but no more than 4 years
  • Click here to find a Social Work Supervisor in your areaVirginia LCSW post license for at least three years

    Find
    Virginia Social Work Supervision
  • At total of 100 hours. Ratio of a minimum of 1 hour and a maximum of 4 hours of face-to-face supervision per 40 hours of work.
  • Click here for specific information on the ASWB Clinical ExamClinical ASWB Exam

    More information for this
    Social Work Exam
  • $100 to Virginia SW Board
  • $260 to ASWB
  • None
  • Every 2 years
  • 30 hours of CEU's: must include 2 hours of ethics or laws
  • $125 to Virginia SW Board
  • Get License Updates Newsletter Sign Up - License and Certification Updates

 

Virginia LSW Licensure

In Virginia the bachelors licenses is the LSW.  In order to become an LSW you must first graduate with a bachelors in social work. Information for the LSW is listed in the table below.

 

  • Virginia License

    Requirements

  • Degree needed to qualify for each license. IMPORTANT: Degree must be from a school accredited by the Counsel on Social Work Education.Degree Requirement
  • License required to qualify for the next license level: You must have this license to qualitfy for the next license.Base License/Certification Requirement
  • Paid clinical work experience needed to qualify for the license.Social Work Experience Requirement
  • IMPORTANT: Most state social work boards require minimum standards for supervisors. At Social Work Supervisor.com we require that supervisors attest they meet state requirments before they can list with us. Social Work Supervision
  • Required supervision time with supervisorSocial Work Supervision Requirements
  • Required Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam to qualify for the license. ASWB Social Work Exam Requirements
  • State social work board license application fee.Application Fee
  • Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) exam fee ASWB Social Work Exam Fee
  • After the exam is passed this is the fee paid to the board to get your licenseLicense Fee
  • Period in which your license is valid before you must renew.Renewal Period
  • Number of continuing education units (called CEUs or CEs) required for license renewalSocial Work Continuing Education Requirements
  • Fee paid to the board for license renewalRenewal Fee
  • State Boards review and change license information on a regular basis. Stay up to date by clicking "receive updates" directly to the right. Free State Board Monitoring Service
  • Virginia

  • LSW (with BSW)

  • Masters or Doctorate Degree in Social Work
  • BSW
  • 2 years full time post BSW degree experience -3000 hours/ 4 years part time-3000 hours
  • Click here to find a Social Work Supervisor in your areaLCSW or a bachlors degreed LSW with 3 years experience or LSW with a masters degree

    Find
    Virginia Social Work Supervision
  • 100 hours of face to face supervision
  • Click here for specific information on the ASWB Bachelors ExamBachelors ASWB Exam

    More information for this
    Social Work Exam
  • $100 to Virginia SW Board
  • $260 to ASWB
  • None
  • Every 2 years
  • 15 hours of CEU's: must include 2 hours of ethics or laws
  • $110 to Virginia SW Board
  • Get License Updates Newsletter Sign Up - License and Certification Updates

 

Virginia Social Work License Applications and Questions

 

Application Forms for Social Work License in Virginia

Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) Application

Licensed Social Worker (LSW) Application

Virginia Social Work Board

Board of Social Work
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233-1463
804-367-444
302-744-4500

Social Work License

Click a Virginia County Below to Find a Supervisor in Your Area